Fiction Fragment Friday: NaNoWriMo 2013 Edition

For the month of November I thought it only fair that I share snippets of my NaNoWriMo novel as I’m writing it. This year my fellow novelists and I are lucky enough to have a month of five weekends, so that means I can post five fiction fragments while I’m rushing to the literary finish line.

This morning my fragment is going to be quite short because, hey, I literally just started writing! But I hope that these few sentences will get you interested for what is to come. So without further ado, here are the first few lines of a novel I’ve tentatively titled: Bloodlust.

—–

I was only five years old when the world ended.

That’s a bit dramatic, I suppose, but that’s what it felt like at the time. I don’t remember much, of course – kids are so wonderful at suppressing what they don’t care to recall – but I remember the fear. I remember the looks on my parents faces as we looked up at the new sky for the first time, and I remember thinking that grown-ups should never look that terrified.

The ones who were old enough at the time tell us about how beautiful the Earth was once. They tell us about how green and lush the forests and meadows were, how hot and bright were the deserts, and the oceans… They tell us that the oceans were a crystalline, sapphire blue. I would find it all terribly difficult to believe if it weren’t for the pictures in my books.

These days the only green vegetation is what we manage to grow in our greenhouses. The deserts are freezing wastelands. The oceans and roiling black deathtraps. But the worst is the sky. The sky above us that once brought us light and warmth now brings us only sorrow.

Leave a Comment

