Fiction Fragment Friday: NaNoWriMo 2013 Edition Part 5

2013-Participant-Facebook-CoverLadies and gentlemen, we come to the last Friday of the month, and thus the last fiction fragment of my NaNoWriMo novel. It is with great pride that I post this last excerpt, because as of last night I passed the finish line and officially completed my 6th NaNoWriMo, making 2013 my 5th win. I did not manage to reach the self-imposed goal that I was hoping to strive for, but given that I’ve spent a great deal of the last two weeks preparing for both my daughter’s birthday party and the upcoming holiday madness, I am quite satisfied to have simply passed the usual finish line, thank you very much.

And so, here we are: I give you one final excerpt from what has been a truly random NaNo novel.

—–

Given that it was so painful to move it took me a while to figure out that I was chained vertically to a wall. I was hanging from both wrists, just high enough so that my toes could touch the ground. I could relieve some of the pressure on my wrists by standing on the tips of my toes, but soon that would start to ache horribly as well, so I was in terrible pain either way. I soon found myself crying openly.

What was going to happen to me? Was I still on the compound, or had Lucas brought me somewhere else…perhaps to some remote location? Was he planning to come back for me? Or was he just going to leave me here to starve and die? I thought I would prefer to be bitten and drunk dry. At least that would come fairly quick. Just thinking about being left here in the dark until I starved had me hyperventilating. Surely he wouldn’t. Surely he would at least drink from me, right? I mean, a vampire wouldn’t waste perfectly good blood, right?

I couldn’t believe that I was seriously praying for Lucas to come back and kill me, but I’d lost all hope in the past ten minutes. I had no idea where I was, so how could I expect any kind of rescue? I could be ten miles under ground for all I knew, and I hadn’t been wearing Rowan’s camera when Lucas had knocked me out. How would anyone have any idea of where I’d gone?

They would look for me, of that I was absolutely certain. But how would they ever find me?

They wouldn’t. They would never find me. It was all over for me.

Except that it wasn’t all over, was it? I still had the dark and the agony in my wrists and feet, and I still had the starvation to look forward to. No, it wasn’t over yet. My suffering had only just begun.

It was this thought that was in my mind when I heard a creek. It was an innocuous sound that could have been any one of a hundred different things, but I was certain that I knew exactly what it was. It was a chair. Someone was in here with me, sitting comfortably in a wooden chair, and he’d just moved.

For a while I couldn’t bring myself to say anything, but I also couldn’t stop the crying, which was somehow worse. Eventually though, the knowledge that someone was sitting, perhaps only a few feet away from me, while I hung here and sobbed began to drive me mad. I had to say something, and so I asked, “What are you going to do with me?”

He didn’t answer right away, but a few moments later Lucas’ voice came wafting across the darkness: “Is this not enough?” he asked. “I’m rather enjoying just sitting here, watching you lose all hope.”

Leave a Comment

