A to Z Challenge Day 9: Iron Man (the Smarmiest Avenger)

IIronMan

Let’s get one thing out of the way right off the get-go: Iron Man was not a childhood favorite of mine. I knew who he was, of course, but of the superheroes I followed as a child, he was not one. I liked Spiderman and Batman and the X-Men, and that was actually pretty much it. My childhood background in superheroes was a product of 1990’s cartoons, and though there was an Iron Man cartoon in that time span I don’t ever remember it being available on any channel that my family had. If I’m being perfectly, 100% honest with myself, I eventually hooked onto Iron Man only because of Robert Downey Jr. Before the 2008 blockbuster, I didn’t know a great deal about Iron Man other than that his real name was Tony Stark, and that he was a cocky millionaire with no actual superpowers. He had a hell of a lot of money, and he built himself a superhero suit. That was pretty much the extent of my knowledge.

But after watching that 2008 movie (and enjoying it thoroughly) I started to look back into the famous comic book character. What I discovered was that Robert Downey Jr. could scarcely have recreated a more accurate representation of Tony Stark. The “playboy, billionaire, philanthropist” may be over-confident and egotistical, but he also has a good heart, a will of steel, and a concrete desire to rid the world of evil. And he has real, relatable flaws – he drinks a hell of a lot, and also the aforementioned over-confidence issue), which always makes a charter feel more believable to me. I fell even more in love with the character once Joss Whedon had his turn at writing him for The Avengers. Yeah, I’m not afraid to admit that I’m a Whedonite. What’re you gonna do about it?

Long story short, in recent years I’ve become a big fan of a number of superheroes, and Iron Man is definitely up near the top of that list. Sometime in the (hopefully near) future I hope to obtain some of the comic compilation volumes that include his origin story so that I can learn more. Because, as previously mentioned in a number of other blog posts, I am an unbelievable nerd.

24 thoughts on “A to Z Challenge Day 9: Iron Man (the Smarmiest Avenger)

  1. iron man wasn’t one of my known superheroes. there was a distinct lack of superhero cartoons in the 80s on the three regular channels.

    justice league with the wondertwins and wonderwoman’s invisible jet (so weird that), but iron man wasn’t among them.

    bats is still my favorite though. and green arrow.

    • Batman was a big part of my childhood as well, particularly because the 90’s cartoon was one of the only superhero cartoons available at the time. Green Arrow, I have to say, wasn’t even on my radar until maybe five or six years ago…he was one of the characters who just never existed as far as my limited knowledge. I only really found out anything about him when my husband started watching “Arrow” recently.

  2. I was an Iron Man fan. And yes your are right I can’t think of anyone better suited to play Tony Stark than RDJ. Let’s be honest, RDJ is brilliant. One of the best actors ever, he could play anything he wanted. Iron Man is very flawed, so it really is a good choice for any good actor. But RDJ gives the roll a bit of gravitas.

    The only other character I think he could do equal justice to is Dr. Strange.


    Timothy S. Brannan
    The Other Side, April Blog Challenge: The A to Z of Witches

    • Oh my goodness, yes, RDJ would probably be outstanding as Dr. Strange! I have to say though, that even though I didn’t know a whole lot about Iron Man when I first saw the first movie, I could tell right from the get-go that he was the PERFECT choice for Tony Stark.

      Also, have you ever checked out his Facebook page? So much love. He’s constantly posting stuff poking fun at himself and his co-actors. ❤

  3. I am just the same. Downing Jr. is who got me hooked on the character. I was always a Gambit girl myself, so I could appreciate his flirtation and wit. :3 I have so many comic compilations on my wishlist… Gambit being the first priority… especially since it looks like he’s finally going to show up in an upcoming X-Men movie! So excited!

    • You know, it’s funny how much I have in common with the bloggers I’ve met through this challenge…I was always a Gambit girl too! lol I loved the X-Men cartoon growing up, and I always thought Gambit was the coolest. I can’t WAIT to see him on the big screen…I hope they do him justice!!!

      • Weee!!!! My sister and I had a running joke for the longest time, because even though we loved the cartoon, there was this one moment where the voice-acting was truly atrocious, in that wonderful 90s way.

        There’s an episode where Rogue and Gambit are racing around in a red sports car, and when they get back to the house, Remy is all “Don’t worry, chère, I park ‘da car.” We’d say it to each other all the time… for no reason, but it always made us laugh. I can’t wait to see him on the big screen too!

        • Haha, too awesome! Aren’t little in-jokes like those the best? My best friend and I used to quote a particular video game all the time…people thought we were nuts but we thought we were awesome. lol

Leave a Comment

