Blogging 101, Day Nine: Inspire Yourself

blogging101
For day nine of the Blogging 101 course, Michelle W. asks us to write a post inspired by your About page or widget. The idea is that your About page (which you should have upgraded on day eight) is just the “beginning of your story”, and that you can use the information you came up with for your About page as a way to speak to the key themes of your blog. Seems straight forward? I didn’t think so. I read through the assignment post several times before I started to write this and I’m still not entirely sure I know exactly what Michelle is going for. It’s not really such a confusing concept, I suppose; I think it’s just that it feels a bit obvious to me…like, since I mentioned in my About page that I’m a writer hoping to become published, chances are that I’m going to write about writing and publishing.

In the end I decided to ignore most of the bulk of Michelle’s post (sorry, Michelle…you’re doing a great job, seriously) and just focus on the actual assignment sentence: write a post inspired by your About page or widget. To that end, I thought I’d reference my About page to write a little more detail about myself, my background, and my intentions:


 

Growing up I was was always a nerdy kid. I loved school, especially math, and I absolutely loved reading. I used to kick the crap out of any reading challenges the school put on during the summer months, and I’m sure my parents spent upwards of $2000 on Babysitter’s Club books for me, not even to mention all the books they bought me through those Scholastic book fairs. I didn’t have a whole lot of friends, but the ones I had were the best friends in the world and I grew up with a large extended family including several cousins of my age, so I wasn’t exactly lonely.

Some of my favorite things as a kid were RPG video games, Star Wars, and Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Now that I’m an adult some of my favorite things are RPG video games, Star Wars, and Buffy the Vampire Slayer. But don’t worry…I’ve expanded my interests. I also now love zombie shoot-’em-up video games, Star Trek, and True Blood. And of course I’m just teasing. I love all of those things, but I have plenty of other favs, including a more-recent obsession with Doctor Who, pretty much anything that happens within the Marvel Universe, and tea in a great variety of options. Mmm. Tea.

Though I was always an intellectual kind of kid growing up, I leaned more and more to the artsy side of things as time went on. I took piano lessons for years before eventually moving on to the guitar. My bedroom walls were often papered in my own drawings, which were mostly of my favorite video game and anime characters. In the third grade, after writing a short story for a project, I decided I wanted to be a writer, professionally. Things went a little sideways in high school when I realized that I also wanted to have some kind of financial security, and so I chose a more technological profession, but I’m still working on that whole writer thing, seriously.

What else is there to know about me? I prefer jeans, t-shirts, and ponytails, but sometimes I get super girly and like to play around with nail polish and cute shoes and whatnot. I love laying in the warm sun, but I also kinda dislike being outdoors in general because I can’t turn off the part of my brain that tells me I should be doing something. Oh, and I’ve got a thing for dragons. McFarlane has made a wee bit of money off of me.

My husband and my three-year-old daughter are the most important people in the world to me, and though it may only be a pipe dream I would love to someday be able to live on my writing so that I wouldn’t have to regularly leave them to work out in the Alberta oil sands. I’m currently in the process of running the final edits on my zombie apocalypse novel, and once that is sent off to the printers I plan to get to work on a project that I’ve been working on for a decade, completely revising it into a YA series. It is my sincere hope that by the time I hit forty (that’s ten years from now) I’ll have at least five self-published books and a healthy following on this blog. So feel free to tell your friends (*hint hint*).

All in all, I blog because it’s fun, I love interacting with readers and writers alike, and it keeps me writing even when I feel like I can’t write. How’s that? Feel like you know me now? πŸ˜‰

4 thoughts on “Blogging 101, Day Nine: Inspire Yourself

  1. It’s nice to get to know a little more about you. πŸ™‚ The quips were quite cute and made me giggle. Good job on the “expansion pack” for your bio. πŸ˜‰

  2. I really like this version better because there is a sense of humorous about it. The part about liking RPG games as a kid, and having the exact list of interests as a kid really made me laugh. I have to confess that my childhood interests reflect upon my now slightly expanded adult interests. These include legos, cartoons, and Lucky Charms cereal. πŸ™‚

    • I’m sure there are lots of (boring) adults out there who would disagree, but I truly believe that holding on to the things you love is a sign of MATURITY, rather than the alternative. Example: this week at a Canada Day festival my husband and I saw a grown man (probably around 40) wearing a True Blood shirt that proclaimed him a “Fangbanger”. I thought it was a bit funny, but at the same time it shows that this guy isn’t so caught up in being an “adult” that he tries to hide his true face from the world. If you truly love something it shouldn’t matter whether society thinks that it’s childish or not. Giving up things you love to look more adult has got to be one of the silliest signs of true immaturity. IMO. ^_~

Leave a Comment

