Accountability Wednesdays: Weeks 25 and 26

20140128-192236.jpg

As mentioned on Friday, I’ve been having a rough go of it these past couple of weeks. My time to write/blog/do anything I want to do/etc is extremely limited while I’m out West, and it definitely doesn’t improve matters when the WordPress app on my phone just decides to completely eat my accountability post, leaving absolutely no trace that I ever wrote it. So this post, written while on the bus heading toward the airport on my way home for my turnaround, will be for the 25th and 26th weeks of the year. Fair warning: don’t expect much.

Goal #1. Lose ten pounds and become healthier overall.

I can’t really give a good report on this until next week because I haven’t been able to weigh myself for quite a while. What I can tell you is that I have been eating less lately, and I’ve been doing a fair bit of walking. I’m not sure how much that counts for since the food at the work camp tends to be sugary, salty, and fatty, but I guess we’ll see. Further reports to follow.

On a related topic, I’m not certain that the medication I was given for my stomach problems is actually helping, but then I’ve also been having a very hard time remembering to take it. It’s the kind of thing you have to take multiple times of day and my brain just doesn’t seem to accept that. I might have to start setting alarms on my phone.

Goal #2. Be more active on social media and work hard on my “author platform”.

Considering my current time constraints I think that this one is going about as well as it could. I’ve been keeping up with posts (except when WordPress whisks them away into Never-Neverland), and been spending time on both Facebook and Twitter. My Achilles heel lately has been replying to comments on the blog. I swear I’m not ignoring you, everyone; it’s just difficult to write good replies on my phone within the two second periods I get to myself throughout the day. As soon as I get home I swear it’s one of the first things on my list to go back through the backlog.

Goal #3: COMPLETE my zombie apocalypse novel, Nowhere to Hide.

I’ve mentioned before that this is something that I can’t work on while I’m out West. What I explained in the post that got eaten (and thus not seen) is that I have set myself a mini-goal to put aside all writing (aside from blogging) from now until this goal is complete. I want this book published before Halloween this year, and I think the best thing to do is to focus all my energy on that goal and then focus on writing when that is complete. Wish me luck!

Goal #4. Write 500,000 words.

I can’t really report much today because I’m not certain of the numbers. My numbers from last week are written in a notebook that is stashed somewhere in my luggage at the moment, and this week’s numbers are scarcely worth mentioning. I can tell you that the two-week total is somewhere in the range of 6000 words. I expect that to go down in future weeks because of the aforementioned mini-goal, but no worries. Once Nowhere to Hide is out of my hands I’ll be going into full-on super-writer mode when I start working on my YA series, The Other World.

So there you have it. By the time you’re reading this I should be safely home, wondering how I could have ever thought that 15-hour days were more tiring than living with a toddler, and hopefully I’ll have more to report next week. Ciao!

Leave a Comment

