Accountability Wednesdays: Week 29

20140128-192236.jpg

Please believe me when I tell you that I haven’t been this exhausted in a long time, and since I’m tired most of the time anyway, that’s really saying something. I’m a little over halfway into my shift and I’m genuinely wondering how I’m going to make it to the end without going completely wacky. This morning I almost left for work with no shoes on, no lie. Fifteen-and-a-half-hour days, man…mental.

But life presses on and somehow – miraculously – I’ve been managing to keep up with a few things. So, without further ado…

Goal #1: Lose ten pounds and become healthier overall.

On the weight-loss side of things I have nothing to really report because – as I’ve mentioned before – I have no way to weigh myself when I’m out West. One thing that I can tell you is that I’ve been making a major effort to forgo pop and juice for water and tea (without milk or sugar). I’m still eating like a pig because goddamn, the camp food here is actually really good, but at least I’m cutting out empty calories. Now if only there were enough time in the day to cram in some exercise.

On the general health side of things, my guts have actually been pretty kind to me lately, so maybe those meds are actually working. Go figure.

Goal #2. Be more active on social media and work hard on my author platform.

I took to Twitter earlier this week to complain about Marvel giving my beloved Thor a sex change. That counts, right?

In all seriousness though, things are going well. Likes, follows, comments, retweets, favorites, and subscriber notices have become a daily occurance for me in past weeks, and I’m loving it. On Monday StumbledUpon even featured my blog post and caused my normal traffic to more than double. Keep it up everyone! I love you all!

Goal #3: COMPLETE my zombie apocalypse novel, Nowhere to Hide.

As previously mentioned, this goal is on hold while I’m out West, but I set myself a mini-goal of getting enough blog posts scheduled so as to be able to focus on this goal during my days home. I’m happy to report that said mini-goal is going swimmingly. I’m still working on it, but I already have almost my entire time home planned out. Yes, for once I’ve actually done precisely what I said I was going to do. Huzzah!

Goal #4: Write 500,000 words.

I can honestly say that I have no idea how I did it while working fifteen-and-a-half-hour days, but I kicked ass this week. I wrote what felt like about a million blog posts this week and it all added up to 9290 words. I am beyond exhausted, but very proud of myself, and I know it’s all going to be worth it when I have significantly less to do during my days off. I can almost feel the waves of relief now.

Come on, end of shift. Mama’s waiting for you.

2 thoughts on “Accountability Wednesdays: Week 29

  1. Okay, it’s confession time. I read your blog A LOT and the posts I’m most fond of I’ve been adding to StumbleUpon. I wasn’t sure if you would mind (some bloggers HATE StumbleUpon and for no good reason in my own opinion). Glad to hear that it is bringing you the much desired traffic that you deserve. Trust me, the Internet is literally loaded with crappy writing (again in my own opinion). Your blog is one I much enjoy reading.

    Carry on. 🙂

    • Have I mentioned lately that I love you?
      Seriously though, thanks so much, not only for submitting me to StumbleUpon, but also just for reading and being an awesome contributor. It’s a huge thing for me to know that, yes, people are reading this and enjoying it. It keeps me going. 🙂

Leave a Comment

