Blogging 101, Day Nineteen: Try a New Posting Style

blogging101

It’s important to try new things so that we don’t become stagnant. Many people think of a blog as just walls of written text, but they can really be so much more. That’s why today’s assignment is to build your storyteller’s toolbox by publishing a post in another format or a style that you’ve never used before.

Michelle W. tells us that trying new things is important because it keeps our readers interested, and also helps us to learn the best ways to effectively share a story. You should always be learning, after all.

For example, a post doesn’t have to be a written wall of text. You could post an interesting quote, a funny video, or the link to a cause you care about. You could share a photo album, write out a favorite recipe, or scan in some of your artwork. You could take a break from the written word and record a vlog instead. Have some fun!

Personally, I stick mostly to written stories and thoughts from my own mind because it’s what I enjoy the most, but every now and then I’ll share a video I enjoyed, or a recipe, or something else a little different, mostly to take a break from writing endless walls of text. So in the spirit of the assignment, I’m going to do something a little different from my usual. I’m going to share one of my favorite writer quotes and let you think about it yourselves (hint: feel free to share those thoughts in the comments).

“Writing a book is a horrible, exhausting struggle, like a long bout of some painful illness. One would never undertake such a thing if one were not driven on by some demon whom one can neither resist nor understand.” – George Orwell

4 thoughts on “Blogging 101, Day Nineteen: Try a New Posting Style

  1. Love the quote! That’s Orwell?! Oh man. I smell a new tattoo (paraphrased, of course; that’s way too may one’s for my liking). I like this idea too though. Breaks up the monotony. Good stuff. πŸ‘

    • I won’t SWEAR that it’s Orwell, because the Internet tends to enjoy screwing with facts, but I did find it on a website full of quotes from authors and that’s the name they had on there. πŸ™‚
      I like quotes that describe writing as a painful experience because everyone I know who DOESN’T write seems to think it’s this super-easy thing that just happens like magic. Quotes like this one remind me that I’m FAR from alone in feeling like writing is slowly chipping away at my soul. lol

Leave a Comment

