Horror Block Unboxing and Review July 2014

One could say that I’m becoming a little bit obsessed with these subscription boxes, and one would probably be correct. But I was actually not going to bother trying this particular subscription box at first. Being a box for “horror” fans, it seemed like something my husband might enjoy more than me, and since I haven’t been having what I would call “a lot of luck” with the other versions of Nerd Block, I initially said “screw it” to the Horror Block.

But then I spent almost a full month thinking about how July’s Horror Block was going to include a Sharknado item, and on the very last day before block sales close I found myself signing up. Guess what? I’m glad I did. Please check out my unboxing video first:

Did I seem a little excited about the Sharknado Funko? I may have been a little excited.

So here’s the breakdown:

Sharknado Funko Pop figure: $12
NIghtmare Before Christmas series 1 trading figure: I couldn’t find a single figure for sale, only the completed sets. The set of 6 is going for about $25 on some sites, so we’ll just say that a single fig is worth about $4
“Frog Brothers Vampire Hunters” shirt: pretty sure this is another Nerd Block exclusive (does anyone know if they only do exclusive shirts?), but it seems to be really nice quality, so I’m giving it $20
Zumbies “Walking Thread” doll: there seems to be some discrepancy over the value of these, so I’m averaging out to about $7
Aliens pins: could not find these anywhere, so I’m going to go with $1 per pin, for a total of $4
Rue Morgue magazine: $10

Total approximate value  of box: $57
Total cost to me: $33

So right off the bat, the value isn’t too bad. Personally I would never pay $10 for that magazine, but even if you knock it down to what I would pay for a magazine, I still got about 160% value in the box. As you may have been able to tell from the video, the Funko was what sealed it for me, but some of the other stuff was pretty cool too. None of it is stuff that I would ever purchase for myself, but I don’t mind that I got them. Jack Skellington is now hanging out on my shelf, and I’m trying to figure out what to do with the Zumbie doll that won’t be likely to wind up with the chain broken. The Aliens pins might end up on my large luggage as a cute way to distinguish it in the airport, but I’m not sure yet.

All in all, I totally thought this Horror Block was worth getting, and I’m happy that I did. I just hope that the awesomeness continues!

Leave a Comment

