Blogging 101, Day Twenty-Six: Extend Your Brand

blogging101

It may seem like a strange concept, but once you decide to become a public blogger, you’ve essentially branded yourself as an online good for consumption. And if you want to be regularly consumed by lots and lots of people (get your minds out of the gutter!) You have to market that brand.

Today’s assignment is to extend your brand with one of the following: a custom Blavatar, a custom image widget, or a Facebook Fan Page.

Advertising tends to be a foreign world to many artistic types (writers, for example), and personally I think that’s okay, because we live in a world where traditionally advertising methods have become so intrusive and annoying that most of us just ignore them completely. Be honest: how often do you actually click on the frustrating pop-up that appears right in front of the website you’re trying to check out? No, these days we have to do our advertising in a more polite, user-friendly way, by working it into the things that people are already enjoying.

Example: the Facebook Fan Page. Creating one for yourself gives Facebook users the opportunity to “follow” you, even if they’re peoplewho wouldn’t normally visit a blog on a day-to-day basis. I myself created my Fan Page (i.e. Author Page) a few months ago, and now I have 91 non-blog-following-people who check out my posts just as often as my actual WordPress followers.

Give a Fan Page a try! You might actually enjoy it!

2 thoughts on “Blogging 101, Day Twenty-Six: Extend Your Brand

    • I don’t share my personal page, unless people specifically request it and I decide that they’re okay. I’m all for an author page, but I feel like my personal page is MY place, you know?

Leave a Comment

