Nerd Block Jr (for Girls) Unboxing and Review for August 2014

If you watched my last two Nerd Block Jr unboxing you know that my enthusiasm for this particular subscription box has waned from the first second that I first opened one. Therefore you might not be surprised to find out that this is going to be my last unboxing and review for Nerd Block Jr.

First, check out the video:

And now a breakdown:

Skylanders ‘Flingers’: So apparently this is a pencil topper, and apparently they go for about $5 each. Frankly, I find that ludicrous because it’s a tiny, junky little thing that I’d be willing to bet I’ll be seeing in the Dollar Store before long, but…whatever.
Super Mario Bros Wii dangler blind bag: These also go for an average of $5
Angry Birds Star Wars dangler: Approximately $5 for this as well
Littlest Pet Shop Magic Motion toy: I couldn’t find the exact one that I got in the block, but similar items go for about $12
Barbie Mega Bloks Kitty Play set: About $5 for this one
OWL magazine: Based on a subscription price, one magazine is worth about $3

Total approximate value of the box: $35
Total cost to me: $23

Now, at first glance this one seems like a bit of a win; it definitely had a better “value” than the previous two, but that’s only really because of the Littlest Pet Shop toy bumping it up a bit, and I’m willing to bet that it’s not even worth the value that I assigned because I couldn’t find that exact toy (meaning I wouldn’t be surprised to find out that it’s a discontinued item that Nerd Block got on the cheap). The Barbie set isn’t bad either, but everything else in the box annoys me because of the age implications of a magazine and cell phone accessories. Basically, I feel that one of the biggest problems with Nerd Block Jr is that the age range of 6-11 is not well-heeded. I subscribed to the block for my daughter who isn’t even near that age range yet, but even if she were six I would think that this box is way too old for her.

All in all, I’m satisfied with my decision to cancel this block. Anyone agree or disagree? Let me know!

Leave a Comment

