A Little Christmas Nip

For lots of people (who aren’t me), today is the end of the week and it’s time to relax. And we tend to relax a little differently during the holidays, don’t we? In fact, we deserve to relax a little differently because if shopping for Christmas presents doesn’t give you a migraine you’ve probably got a hundred other people with migraines who hate your ceaselessly-cheery attitude.

I’ve lost my train of thought.

The point I’m trying to make is drinks. You heard me. Drinks, of the holiday variety.

IMG_5156.GIF
The treats don’t hurt either, but that’s for another post.

Now if you’re not a “drinker” in the adult sense, there are plenty of awesome choices to imbibe during the holidays. David’s Tea has an awesome assortment of holiday teas, my favorite of which is “Santa’s Secret”, a candy-cane flavored beauty. Then there’s the interesting, sugary concoctions that the coffee shops come up with at this time of year, full of whipped cream and chocolate sauce and candy cane sprinkles. And who doesn’t love a good old fashioned cup of hot chocolate with marshmallows?

But if you are someone who enjoys something a little more powerful after a long day of work/shopping, there are even more options. The classic, of course, is eggnog and rum, which is just a lovely drink to curl up next to the tree with. As an alternative to rum I really enjoy the peppermint-flavored Kaluha that comes out around this time; it’s best enjoyed, in my opinion, in a nice lot cup of coffee, or a nice cold glass of milk. Then there are the candy-cane-flavored Mudshakes that I recently discovered at my local liquor store…ohmygod, so yummy!!

(I’m not an alcoholic, I swear.)

But regardless of your drink of choice and whether or not it involves booze, the best part of enjoying that drink is enjoying it while curled up on the couch, watching Christmas shows with your family or just listening to some nice Christmas tunes. Am I right? You know I’m right, don’t deny it. 🙂

What are your favorite Christmastime drinks to enjoy? Do you have any awesome recipes I should try? Please share!

2 thoughts on “A Little Christmas Nip

    • I was going to gasp in horror, but it occurred to me that there are several traditions that I thought were nationwide things and yet turned out to be super-secluded to my area, so I won’t make any assumptions. lol

      But yeah, like a shot of rum in a highball glass, filled up with eggnog and lightly sprinkles with nutmeg or cinnamon…*drooool* 😀

Leave a Comment

