Let it Snow…in the Comm Room

Sometimes we are unfortunately enough to have to work or otherwise be away from home during the holidays. As you read this post I’ll be on the last day of my 14-day shift on the Alberta oil sands. With the full day it takes me to fly out here and the full day it takes to fly back, that means that I will have spent the first 16 days of December over 3000 miles away from my family instead of enjoying my decorated house, reading Christmas stories to my daughter, baking goodies, and wrapping presents.

But I count myself lucky, because I will be home for the actual holiday. When I was young my mother used to have to work Christmas Day every year. And while I’ve been working on the oil sands I have known several of my coworkers to be stuck working their regular shifts during the holidays; some of those coworkers have multiple kids under 10 and didn’t get to see them open any of their presents. So I count my blessings that I get to be home during the most important part of the holidays, and so do my current coworkers because our site is shutting down for Christmas. (Yay!)

With that thought in mind we’ve been unusually cheery and giddy at work the past few days. One of the boys brought an iPod filled with Christmas music and a Bluetooth speaker to play it on. We’ve been sharing ideas with each other about what to buy for kids/spouses/parents, and teasing the hell out of the ones who haven’t done any shopping yet. And look! I decorated our comm console!

IMG_5165.JPG

The point that I guess I’m trying to make in my roundabout way is that knowing you’re going to be with family and friends soon can make even 12-hour shifts in the dead of winter feel a hell of a lot easier to deal with. So I really, truly hope that all of you are able to spend your holiday with someone special. I know I can’t wait to get home to my special someones tomorrow. Maybe we’ll even make some more snowflakes together when I get home. What do you think?

2 thoughts on “Let it Snow…in the Comm Room

  1. I’ve been blasting the Christmas tunes since November 29th when we put our tree up and have been thankful I’ve been in Jason’s spot… home with the kiddies! Work so much easier when there’s a positive outlook (actually, life is much easier when there’s a positive outlook). Have a Merry Christmas! Maybe we’ll see all y’all before Chris Kringle stops by!

Leave a Comment

