Ipsy Glam Bag Unbagging and Review for December 2014

It’s the last day of the year and I suppose it wouldn’t hurt to finish off 2014 with some beauty products! I received five Ipsy Glam Bags this year, and though I didn’t love every single item, each bag was actually pretty awesome. Check out my unbagging video for December of 2014:

I’ll be honest, I was expecting a little bit more for December’s Glam Bag, since every other subscription box seemed to go a little bit above and beyond for the holidays, but when you look at the breakdown you realize that this stuff was not exactly cheap:

“CoolWay” Boost Repair Treatment: This salon-scented shampoo treatment is a really small sample size that will only be good for maybe two uses, but since the 8 oz regular size product goes for $30, that means that my 1.3 oz sample is actually worth almost $5.
“Crown Brush” Infinity Shadow/Crease Duet Brush: It’s hard for me to fathom because I would never pay so much for a single brush myself, but this is actually a really nice, really soft brush that goes for a retail of $17.50.
“NYX Cosmetics” Butter Lip Balm: This full-sized lip balm has a surprisingly bold color for a balm, and goes for a pretty reasonable price of $4.
“Pixi by Petra” Fairy Dust: According to the website, this product is mean to highlight eyes and cheeks for a “soft focus glow”, and it definitely does just that. The product comes from the UK, and the price works out to the equivalent of about $14 Canadian.
“Tarte” Lights, Camera, Lashes 4-in-1 Mascara: I’d heard a lot about this mascara and I was hoping for a full-sized product when I heard it was coming in my Glam Bag, but I understand now why they didn’t include it that way. The full sized product of 0.24 fl oz goes for $24, making my 0.10 oz sample worth $10.
Ipsy Heart Makeup Bag: As usual I’ll assign the cute little makeup bag a value of about $2.

Total approximate value of bag: $52.50
Total cost to me: $15

So as you can see, the value is MORE than there! My previous bags had an approximate value of somewhere in the range of $32, so this particular bag is actually pretty amazing. My favorite item, surprisingly, is the brush; it’s my first good makeup brush, and I’ve been using it steady as I learn to properly apply eyeshadow (at 30 years old…ha ha ha…). After that I definitely have to go with the Tarte mascara, which is so beautiful and smooth that I would actually consider paying the full price for it.

All in all, an excellent way to end off the year with Ipsy. I’ve been more than happy with every Glam Bag I’ve received so far and look forward to seeing what they send me in the new year!

Leave a Comment

