What Shall I Read?

I’ve always been a reader, since I was a very small kid, but in recent years I’ve found myself reading less and less. Part of this is because I’m busy writing my own stories rather than reading stories written by others. Part of it is because I like quiet when I’m reading a good story, and it’s hard to get quiet in a house with a 4-year-old present. Part of it is that when I do get free time I’m usually more in the mood for a game or a TV show. However, part of it is just that I fail to force myself to sit down with a book, and that’s sad, because when I actually do sit down with a good book I usually end up engrossed and happier for having read it.

So, although I’m not making it an official goal or anything, I plan to try to read more in 2015. But the question then becomes, what do I start with?

There are a few obvious choices. For instance, I’ve been about halfway through “A Dance With Dragons” by George R.R. Martin for almost a year now. It’s not that it’s a bad book or anything (quite the opposite), but it’s HUGE, and I have this enormous hardcover version that isn’t exactly portable. Also, just a couple of months ago I read the first installment in “The Strain” trilogy, and rather enjoyed it, so it makes sense to continue on with the other two books.

But there’s also a slew of other books I have just waiting to be read. I got Stephen King’s “Revival” for Christmas, plus a couple more volumes of the “Complete Deadpool Collection” which, while actually comics rather than literary fiction, are really fun reads. Then there’s the most recent two additions to the “House of Night” series (which is a bit of a guilty pleasure of mine), and I’ve got a number of other horror novels that I never got around to reading when I picked them up at various garage sales and flea markets. Or I could always be a complete goon and choose to curl up with the “How to Survive a Sharknado” guide.

You've got to admit, it looks like pure gold.
You’ve got to admit, it looks like pure gold.

With so many available options, I leave the decision up to you folks. Which book should I start 2015 off with? Should I finish “A Dance With Dragons”, or the “Strain” trilogy? Should I rip open one of the new books? One of the comics? Guilty pleasure? Any other suggestions? Let me know what you think!

6 thoughts on “What Shall I Read?

  1. I’m sorry, but the Sharknado book? No way would I ever read that one. If I’m going to read fiction, it has to be even a tiny bit believable. Sharks getting caught up in a tornado is scientifically impossible. Just my two cents. Sorry if you’re offended.

    • Haha, no offense here, Tom. I’m more for the more believable stuff myself, but I also occasionally enjoy turning my brain off and reading/watching something that’s just so stupid it’s hysterical. πŸ˜€

  2. Do you have an e-reader? A Dance With Dragons weighs significantly less on an e-reader. (I could send it to you if you have one) It was good and usual, somebody died. My all time favorite book is “The Book Thief” by Markus Zusak. I’ve read it several times now (my first reading of it I even dared to write notes in it which helped significantly with my 2nd reading of it). My favorite ending was in another book of his “I am the Messenger”. Awesome ending. Happy reading whatever you choose!

    • I don’t have an e-reader, no, Eric. You’d think I would, but I never really caught on to them. I get the appeal (especially since you can have thousands of books that only weigh about a pound), but I’m not one for reading on a digital screen. I love my physical books too much. πŸ™‚

      Sidenote: I’ve heard several people now tell me that “The Book Thief” is one of their favorites. Maybe I should grab it one of these days! πŸ˜€

  3. Not so long ago I read a book called After Forever Ends by Melody Ramone. I laughed and I cried, laughed so hard one lunch break at work that a coworker tapped on my car window to see if I was alright.

    Currently I am working on the Outlander series. About midway through book two. I’ve enjoyed the book as well as the show they put together.

    And my last two favorite authors of late are Sophie Kinsella, anything of hers is fantastic (I own them all with the exception of Shapolic to the Stars, most recently published) and Janet Evanovich (Stephanie Plum bounty hunter, & sidekick former ho Lula books) they are hysterical and have hit book 21 recently.

    What ever you choose, enjoy!

    Tammy

    • I can honestly say I’ve never heard of any of those. lol Although I’m very curious about “After Forever Ends” now. I rarely read anything humorous, so that might be a nice change!

      I really should broaden my reading horizons (way too much very very similar stuff on my shelves), so I’m going to add everything you mentioned to my list. XD

Leave a Comment

