Dem Skills

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “I Got Skills.”

There is absolutely no question what skill I would want if I could be a master of any possible skill. In this mystical world where I could be the most amazing person ever at one particular skill, I would definitely chose writing. It may seem like a silly choice when there are so many other possibilities out there, but if I could magically become the greatest writer in the world, I would take that chance in a heartbeat.

Google never lets me down on these auto-completed searches.
Google never lets me down on these auto-completed searches.

I love writing. I love it so much that I wish I could do it 24-7 for the rest of my life. But the depressing thing about writing is that it is one of those things that is ridiculously difficult (some might say even almost impossible) to make a career out of. Even if I write and publish a hundred books, there’s no guarantee that anyone will buy them. Even if I write on this blog multiple times a day, every day, for the rest of my life, there’s no guarantee that anyone will read it. Even if I commit myself to an endless barrage of copywriting, article writing, and other forms of writing-that-I-do-just-to-pay-the-bills, there’s no guarantee that I’d ever make enough money to even live, never mind be successful. Writing is simply one of those career choices – like acting or making art – for which your success involves far too much luck.

But if I could suddenly become the greatest writer in the world with all the skills necessary to write the perfect sentence every single time? Well…that would be a step in the right direction.

7 thoughts on “Dem Skills

  1. You’re not the only one. I’d love to improve my writing so that I could make a living out of it. I’d be able to work from home or anywhere I’m traveling. I could actually travel a lot, since I’d have my own schedule. It’s a dream.

      • I’d go for sitting in a comfortable chair in a warm room with my laptop and typing away. I’m currently sitting on a sofa in a cold room with my laptop typing away.

          • Same here. My daughter plops herself down on my lap anytime I’m at the computer and gets upset if I try to get her to sit beside me or go play on her own. My wife won’t let me write, since she keeps talking to me. I need my own room!

            • I have the EXACT same problem. My daughter is a little easier to deal with now because she’s getting older, but she still always wants to be sitting RIGHT on top of me. And my husband, god love him, is just one of those people who can’t be in the presence of other people without talking their ears off. lol

Leave a Comment

