And All Was Right in the World for Another Day

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Easy Fix.”

I had to respond to this prompt today just because it made me literally laugh out loud. The reason? Well, let’s start with the actual prompt: “Write a post about any topic you wish, but make sure it ends with β€œAnd all was right in the world.”

I found this hysterical because it reminded me of sillier days. I mentioned this once or twice before, but when my best friend and I were in high school we wrote a series of super-silly stories as a collaboration. It started in our keyboarding class. If you don’t know what a “keyboarding” class is, it’s where you learn to type properly, and because our school board isn’t exactly the richest, we had actual typewriters instead of computers. We would do these exercises to learn how to keep our fingers in the right position, and to increase our speed, and my best friend and I dominated in that class because we were already computer nerds and writers, so we pretty much already knew how to type, thank you very much. So then what did we do during the majority of our keyboarding class? Well we started typing up these little stories and it went a little out of control. They were complete nonsense, little mini-fragments of storytelling staring ourselves and our friends, and they included a great deal of murder, mayhem, space travel, food-related monsters, and cows. Yeah, cows.

A snapshot of one page of the original copy. At the time this seemed like the height of humorous dialogue.
Remember when I shared this? Oh, you don’t? You might be better off.

So why am I telling you this? Well, since my friend and I took turns passing the story back and forth we would make each installment like a miniature stand-alone chapter of the whole, and humorously enough we would end each of these little segments with the words, “And all was right in the world for another day.”

Maybe I’m just totally simple, or maybe it’s too early in the morning and my brain hasn’t started working properly yet, but that amuses me. It’s like we were taking part in this prompt 13 years too early. πŸ˜„

2 thoughts on “And All Was Right in the World for Another Day

  1. That’s really cute. πŸ™‚ (And now I really want to know how many modern writers got their start doing that style of collab in school, lol…. cause I did it, too. πŸ˜› )

Leave a Comment

