Nerd Block Unboxing and Review for February 2015

Better late than never, right? Ladies and gentlemen, you have not, in fact, gone back in time…this is the unboxing and review for February’s Nerd Block, presented in March. Let’s ignore the fact that I have the time management skills of an anesthetized turtle and go right to the video:

I realize in retrospect that I didn’t look terribly impressed with most of this box, but my feelings are actually pretty mixed. Let’s do a little breakdown:

“Flashsicle” t-shirt: This shirt is not my usual kind of design, that’s for sure, but I will admit to it being cute, and it’s definitely unique compared to most of the superhero-related shirts I wear. Long story short, I’ll be wearing it for sure, so I feel comfortable assigning it my usual subscription-box-t-shirt value of $15.
“Breaking Bad” vinyl figure: As mentioned, I haven’t watched Breaking Bad yet myself (please, please hold your boos and hisses), but I can appreciate that this is a nice item to receive if you’re a fan of the show. Personally I think the Titan vinyl collectibles pale in comparison to Funkos, but they’re still pretty cute. Oddly I wasn’t able to find this particular figure online anywhere, so I’m assigning it the average price of the same-sized figures I did find, which is approximately $15.
“Nerd Play” cosplay trading cards: I tried to be nice about it in the video, but I honestly think these are ridiculous. The group themselves do some pretty amazing cosplay, but to put them on trading cards seems really silly to me. I’m not 100% sure, but I think these cards may have been made specifically for Nerd Block, which makes them difficult to value, but people are selling them online at a cost of approximately $1 per pack, so I’m going to go with that.
“Drum Up Some Ideas” notepad: This amused me, for sure, but as I said in the video, it’s basically just stationary, and not terribly “nerdy”. This playful stationary goes for about $8.
Cliccors x2: Nerd Block loves to put desk toys in their blocks, and I’m sure that some people totally love that. For me it really just means I have more little random junky things cluttering up my house. These might be amusing for a few minutes, but after that I really don’t care anymore. That said, even though Cliccors has a website, I was unable to find them actually for sale anywhere on the internet so I have no idea what they go for. Given that they’re basically just reshapable plastic bracelets, I’m going to go ahead and say about $2 per set.
Star Wars variant cover comic: Star Wars is always going to be a plus with me, and I’m actually starting to be amused with my meager comic collection. My only issue with this issue (ha ha) is that I hate trying to put a value on these comics. The best I can really do is give it the approximate value of what I would pay for a comic in a store, which is about $4, but for all I know it might be worth more because of the variant cover. *shrugs*

Total approximate value of box: $48
Total cost to me: about $38

So, the thing here is that I feel like this would have been a great box for the right person, but that person just isn’t me. I don’t love the shirt, but I’m okay with it, and the Breaking Bad figure is cute, but it’s not entirely relevant to me (yet). The Nerd Play cards and the Cliccors are superfluous, and the Drum Up Some Ideas notepad is cute, but strikes me as one of those things that really doesn’t belong in a Nerd Block, in my opinion. That just leaves the comic, which is nice but doesn’t exactly make the box worth the price tag, especially since shipping seems to have gone up and made Nerd Block more expensive for me.

Long story short, it wasn’t a bad box, but I wasn’t terribly impressed, and this month helped me seal the decision to cancel this particular subscription. March’s box will be my last one for Nerd Block, so be sure to come back and see it then.

Also, a reminder that I am running a contest throughout the month of March. For each comment you post on my blog throughout the month, you will receive one entry toward a draw for a hard-copy of my zombie apocalypse novel, “Nowhere to Hide”! Please note that in order to accept the prize, I will need you to give me a mailing address where I can have the book sent. If the winner drawn did not intend to enter the contest and/or does not want the book, I will draw another name. Please also note that obvious spam/duplicate comments/etc. will not be counted toward an entry…play fair! And good luck!

Leave a Comment

