Ipsy Unbagging and Review for February 2015

Rounding out my series of super-late subscription box reveals is my Ipsy Glam Bag for February. I always enjoy seeing what new beauty products Ipsy has decided to send me each month, so let’s go right to the video:

I totally almost missed that makeup brush. Whoops! Luckily I noticed it before I’d shut off the camera. Ha ha… Anyway, let’s take a look at the breakdown!

China Glaze nail lacquer: I haven’t had a chance to try this polish out yet, but oh my god does it look pretty! It’s super sparkly with tons of different colors mixed in, although it is mostly purple. The shade is called ‘Marry a Millionaire’, which is a bit silly but actually kind of captures the effect. This is a full-sized product, of course, and it goes for $7.50
Luxie Beauty, Large Angled Face Brush 504: This is the second brush I’ve received from Ipsy and I’m quite happy with it so far. It’s super-soft, and it deposits blush quite nicely. I haven’t used it a ton yet, but if you need this kind of a brush in your collection I definitely think it’s worth the $16 price tag.
Creamy Lip Stain from City Color Cosmetics: The shade I got for this lip stain is called ‘Flirtini’, and that just about covers it. It’s very, very pink. I haven’t had it on yet, but it’s another full-sized product, which is pretty awesome. Each tube retails for $5.
GlamGlow’s BRIGHTMUD Eye Treatment: I’ve been saving this treatment for some night when I’m having a nice, relaxing bath, but I really can’t wait to try it since it claims to treat things like dark circles and “tired” eyes. A 12-pack of these treatments costs about $70, which makes the two packs that Ipsy gave me value at about $12.
Model Co’s BLUSH Cheek Powder: I was a bit iffy when I first saw this blush in ‘Peach Bellini’ because it is very pigmented and I am very pale. However, it turns out that it blends out very nicely, so even on my pale skin I was able to work it across my cheekbones in a way that looks natural. A full-sized compact of this product goes for $22 for 0.28 oz, making my 0.12 oz sample worth about $9.50.

Total approximate value of bag: $50
Total cost to me: $19

Now, I have to mention that the cost of the Glam Bag has gone up a bit for me because of the lowered Canadian dollar, but I also have to point out that the value of this bag was amazing. I didn’t even include a value for the makeup bag itself (which is super-cute, by the way), and it’s still the best value I’ve gotten out of a Glam Bag yet, by a significant amount. I haven’t tried all of the products yet, but I’m quite happy with the ones I have tried, so when you combine that with the heightened value this was a pretty amazing bag, in my opinion!

Did you receive the Ipsy Glam Bag for February? What did you think of it? What was your favorite item? Was your bag very different from mine? Please share!

Also, a reminder that I am running a contest throughout the month of March. For each comment you post on my blog throughout the month, you will receive one entry toward a draw for a hard-copy of my zombie apocalypse novel, “Nowhere to Hide”! Please note that in order to accept the prize, I will need you to give me a mailing address where I can have the book sent. If the winner drawn did not intend to enter the contest and/or does not want the book, I will draw another name. Please also note that obvious spam/duplicate comments/etc. will not be counted toward an entry…play fair! And good luck!

Leave a Comment

