Vinylpalooza! Unboxing and Review

You all know that I love subscription boxes, especially the nerdy ones. And if you’ve been paying any attention at all, you know that my favorite things to receive in these boxes are Funko Pops. With those tidbits of knowledge in mind, you are probably going to be unsurprised that I took a chance on something called Vinylpalooza.

Vinylpalooza is a one-time box purchase event that is occasionally put on by Nerd Block. Basically it is a $20 box with four vinyl collectible figures in it, and this most recent event also had 50 random “Golden Ticket” boxes, for which the purchasers received four Funko Pops. Obviously, for a vinyl figure collector, this box sounds pretty awesome. With a little gentle prodding from my husband I decided to give it a try and see what I got; after all, it’s only a one-time purchase, not an entire subscription. So was I happy with it? Well, here’s the unboxing video:

So if you didn’t watch the video, here’s the thing: this box is not for someone who is already a subscriber to Nerd Block. I suspected ahead of time that this would be the case, but the box is basically an excuse for Nerd Block to get rid of overstocked items from previous boxes. As such, if you’ve been subscribing to Nerd Block itself for at least a little while, the chances that you’re going to get all double items is pretty damn good. Let’s take a quick look at the breakdown of what I got in my box.

Ecto-1 Ghostbusters vehicle from Titan Merchandise:
As explained in the video, this is an item that was included in both Nerd Block and Horror Block only a couple of months ago. For subscribers of both services they gave the option to trade out the Horror Block figure for a Funko instead. As a result they clearly wound up with tons of leftover Ecto-1’s, because this figure seems to have been in every Vinylpalooza box. It’s a cute little figure, but I traded out my Horror Block one for a Funko a couple of months ago and now I’ve ended up with two of them anyway. The value of this item is approximately $15

Saul Goodman figure from Titan Merchandise:
I originally got this Titan figure several months ago in a Nerd Block. At the time I didn’t care much for it because I hadn’t watched Breaking Bad yet, and it’s still not a huge deal to me because I’ve only managed to watch the first season so far. My husband is a big fan, so that’s okay, but of course we don’t need two of the identical figure. This item also seems to be in every single Vinylpalooza box, as far as I can tell from the unboxing videos, and it’s worth about $10

10th Doctor 4.5” figure from Titan Merchandise:
This was probably the item that annoyed me the most because I literally just got this in last month’s Nerd Block. So even if you’ve only been a subscriber for one month before deciding to try the Vinylpalooza box, you’d have a double here. I was doubly frustrated because according to the card from last month’s Nerd Block you could have gotten any of three different versions of this figure with the Doctor wearing different clothes, but I got the identical one that I already had. That’s just my luck, I guess. Believe it or not, this figure also seems to be in every Vinylpalooza box, meaning that not only is everyone winding up with tons of doubles, but the box is significantly less random than the advertisements would have led you to believe. This one is worth about $15

Dr Raymond Stantz figure from Funko Pop:
This is the only item I got that wasn’t a double for me, and as mentioned in the video it’s still kind of a double because I have the marshmallow-fluffed Comic Con versions of the four Ghostbusters. However, of the options I’ve seen, I’m glad I ended up getting this figure because there only seems to have been a handful of Funko Pop options, and the other ones would have been exact doubles for me. At the very least this one gives me the opportunity to check another dude off my Funko Pop list. He’s worth about $12.

Total approximate value of box: $52
Total cost to me: $36

So, as you can see, the long and short of it is that this purchase was pretty much a bust for me. Hopefully I’ll be able to either sell or trade the three doubles, but as it stands I effectively paid $36 to gain a $12 Pop. If you weren’t already a subscriber to Nerd Block, this single-shot purchase had the opportunity to be a pretty awesome deal, but here’s the thing: if you weren’t already a subscriber to Nerd Block, you probably would never have heard about this box, because you get ads for things like Vinylpalooza by being a subscriber (or doing business with their affiliate, Shirt Punch). In this way, I’m betting that the overwhelming majority of people who bought this box were Nerd Block subscribers and thus ended up with a bunch of doubles in their collection like I did.

Long story short, I did not feel that picking up this box was worth it. I wanted to give it a try just in case (and on the off-chance that I might have wound up getting a “Golden Ticket” box), but I now know for the future that if I’ve been receiving Nerd Blocks for a while, I probably won’t want the next Vinylpalooza box.

What did you think? Did you purchase a Vinylpalooza box? Were your items almost identical to mine? Did you get anything different? Please share!

4 thoughts on “Vinylpalooza! Unboxing and Review

  1. I so enjoy your unboxings. Good to note that a “One-Time Special” is just that: leftover stock. However, clever merchandising/marketing on their part. (Sorry about the Doctor Who; you were so excited last month.). Maybe there’s a market on eBay to recoup some… more money for more boxes of stuff. 🙂

    • I’m glad you enjoy them! I enjoy making them! ^_^
      I kinda figured that the Vinylpalooza box was going to be overstock, but my husband convinced me to try it on the off-chance that I’d get something good, since it was only a one-time payment anyway. It’s too bad that it was all doubles, but at least I got a regular Stanz to go with my regular Venkman. lol

Leave a Comment

