NYC Midnight’s “Flash Fiction Challenge”

You guys know that I’m a writer (hopefully, otherwise you haven’t been paying attention at all), and a published novelist at that. No, I’m not what you might call “successful”, but for better or worse writing is the thing I love, and I fully plan to spend the rest of my days publishing more and more novels.

So it might surprise you to find out that in all my “career” of writing since the third grade, I’ve never entered any writing competitions. Now, there may have been a school thing or two back in the day, and I once had a poem published in the local newspaper back when they had such a lighthearted feature as that, but I’ve never actually sat down and committed myself to an actual contest, of the type that involves competing against other writers for a prize.

Today I decided to change that. After months of getting emails from NYC Midnight about their “Flash Fiction Challenge“, I finally decided to bite with only a couple of days left until the entry deadline. The idea is this: competitors are divided into groups, and each group is given a genre, a location, and an object that they must use to create their piece of fiction. This is a flash fiction competition, so your creation must be less than 1000 words. Each group gets to write two stories, and are awarded points and get feedback on their pieces from the judges. The top five scorers from each group then move on to the next round.

The fact of the matter is, I don’t expect to actually win anything from this competition, as it is actually quite popular and thus there are lots of other (presumably talented) writers to hold up against. But I think it would be fun, and sometimes you’ve just got to put yourself out there and take a chance or two. Since my current manuscript isn’t nearly ready for submission to publishers, I think this will be a fun way to do just that.

So what do you think, fellow writers? Want to join me? ^_~

2 thoughts on “NYC Midnight’s “Flash Fiction Challenge”

  1. I’m not big on contests myself, but a few years back I entered Sci-Fi Idea’s Alien August competition. I didn’t win, but I guess I made a good impression because they invited me to write a few science articles for them. Now I’m one of their regular contributors. Sometimes taking a chance brings unexpected rewards.

    • That’s awesome! I’m not expecting too much out of this particular competition, but each entrant gets feedback on their entries, so at least that should be something interesting!

Leave a Comment

