Rekindling the Love – A Conclusion

Good news, everybody! The experiment – such as it was – was a roaring success!

Okay, stepping back for a moment… Last week I was reiterating how I had fallen out of love with my current manuscript, which wasn’t something I really wanted to be dealing with at all. Several fellow writers and bloggers had suggested to me that perhaps re-reading the manuscript from the beginning would help to rekindle that love for it, so I compiled what I had into a Word file, sent it to my phone, and spent my breaks and bus time reintroducing myself to the story.

And I must say, it really worked quite swimmingly. Within only a few pages I found myself remember how much I love these characters. Soon I found myself getting genuinely excited at the action-packed parts, getting emotional during the sad bits, and getting grave during the dark moments. By the time I was about halfway through the story I was already thinking, “Dammit, I have to write the ending to this!” But I forced myself to keep reading first, and now I’m genuinely, sincerely excited to finish those last two chapters and ship this manuscript off to my beta-reader. The re-read experiment was a complete and total success.

Now, if I could just find the time to finish those last two chapters and ship this manuscript off to my beta-reader.

Ah well. One step at a time.

2 thoughts on “Rekindling the Love – A Conclusion

Leave a Comment

