What’s in a Game?

Video games were a huge part of my childhood, and though I don’t have nearly as much time for them as I used to, they’re still a pretty big part of my adulthood. This past weekend my daughter and I (mostly me…:P) defeated Little Big Planet 3, and I’m currently traveling with a PS Vita in my luggage, just waiting to finish off the last bits of Lego Batman 3.

Yeah, okay, I mostly play a lot of the more childish games these days, but we’re not talking about that today. Today we’re talking about a fighting game, because the hubby and I recorded our first ever gameplay YouTube video the other day. I unboxed the Collector’s Edition box of Street Fighter V, and then we proceeded to plunk down on the couch, stuck that sucker in the PS4, and ripped up some fights for the amusement of my subscribers. It’s definitely not the greatest gameplay video of all time or anything, but it was quite amusing to do and I’m sure we’ll do more of them in the future. I did get a huge kick out of how one of the very first comments on the video was a subscriber letting me know that I’ve got to play more defensively because yes, I suck at fighting games, goddammit. 😄

So anyway, without further ado, I would like to direct you to said video. Give it a look! You may even learn a little thing or two about the history of Street Fighter. ^_~

2 thoughts on “What’s in a Game?

  1. Frash asked me today if he could make a video of Lego Star Wars. The onlg way I know of recording a video game is point the video camera at it. How did you do it? I’m going to have to come over sometime to get in on some of this video game action!

    • We actually bought a video capture device that you hook up between the system and the TV. It’s probably a bit expensive for Crash’s purposes though…I think it was something like $70? So yeah…your best bet might be to point the camera at it. 🙂 Try looking around online though; there might be other options. We got the special device because we plan on doing lots of videos using different consoles and whatnot, but you might be able to find something specifically for the one thing Crash wants it for. 🙂

Leave a Comment

