A-to-Z Challenge 2016 Theme Reveal

atoz-theme-reveal-2016 v2.jpg

I love the A-to-Z Blogging Challenge. For those of you who don’t know what it is, it’s a challenge to write a blog post every day (except Sunday) for the entire month of April. That works out to 26 days, and so each day of the challenge requires the use the the next letter in the alphabet.

The Challenge isn’t without it’s difficulties…some letters such as Q and X are things of pure evil that have many a challenger struggling to come up with the most half-hearted of post ideas. But it’s also a ton of fun, and it has the advantage of allowing me – a rampant procrastinator – to plan out and schedule an entire month’s worth of blog posts in advance. Woo-hoo!

There’s another aspect to the challenge though: the theme. You don’t have to have a theme to participate – you can just write off the cuff about whatever you think of for each particular letter, if you want – but a lot of people find it easier to figure out what they’re going to write if they’ve got something specific to focus on. I, personally, agree, which is why I’ve stuck to themes each year so far. Last year I did a month talking about video games; the year before it was my favorite pop culture characters (from books, movies, TV shows, or games). Both themes were tons of fun, but also required a fair level of research (finding pictures for the posts, tracking down important dates, fact-checking stuff to make sure I didn’t misspeak on anything). This year I don’t really want to get into something like that because these days I spend a lot more of my previously-free time on YouTube, and last year at this time I wasn’t working, whereas now I’m one of my weird-and-exhausting out-West shifts. So I decided to focus on something a little closer to home, a little easier for me to write about right from the cuff, and something that also definitely belongs on this blog, the blog of a writer.

This year, for the 2016 A-to-Z Challenge, I’m going to spend my 26 days talking about my current work-in-progress, a 4-book series that I’ve tentatively titled “The Other World”. I’ll be talking about my characters, the world, the creatures, and whatever else I can think about that will suit the letter requirements of the day. And maybe, just maybe, I’ll get some people excited for the eventual release of Book One. πŸ™‚

So that’s the big reveal…is anyone excited? I sure hope someone is!

21 thoughts on “A-to-Z Challenge 2016 Theme Reveal

  1. Jay Dee did something similar last year that really neat. He used his Ariadne setting and created occupations for each letter. Then wrote a short story based on that occupation in Ariadne. I like your idea. I’m curious to know about your next book!

    • Ouch, I feel your pain! Since last year I’ve gotten deep into recording every word I write and what it was for (blog post, journal, manuscript, etc), and unfortunately what it often shows me is that I’ve written everything BUT fiction for weeks at a time. >.> I’m hoping that this theme will help build some interest in the story, and thus help build my interest in finishing it. XD

  2. I blogged about my WIP last year and found it fun to share my research and plans with people. This year I’m blogging about my latest book release (different book). I hope it goes as well. Good luck!

    • Thanks Tasha! Good luck to you as well. For the record, I did drop by your blog for the theme reveal too, but I seem to having some weird problem commenting on blogspot right now. I’m gonna try to fix it before the challenge. @_@ But your phantoms idea sounds awesome!

Leave a Comment

