A-to-Z Challenge: “F” is for Fireflies

F

For the A-to-Z Challenge 2016, I am blogging info on my current work-in-progress, a YA fantasy/adventure mini-series tentatively titled “The Other World”.


I’ve told you that ‘The Other World’ is full of ancient magic, and that ancient creatures are able to wield it, and I’ve explained that Eden – or rather, the being inhabiting her body – is one of them. But I haven’t explained just who, or what, these ancient creatures are.

The oldest books on record refer to them as Fireflies, for they appear as if little balls of bouncing light. A particularly old tome written by an advisor to the crown explained that, in reality, if you were able to catch one of these Fireflies you would see that they are, in fact, comprised entirely of a tiny ball of flame. For this reason, and despite a lack of empirical evidence, Fireflies have been long given the nickname, “Sparks of Life”. It has been hypothesized that Fireflies are the first form of life to have existed in the universe, that they are the very basis for what we might call a “soul”, and that they are pure and innocent. Some even believe that humans and their fellow races came to exist because some Fireflies traded their magic and immortality in return for physical form. None of this has ever been confirmed, of course, and long before the events of ‘The Other World’ the Fireflies had begun to vanish without a trace. In fact, the Firefly who inhabited Eden’s body was the first to have been seen by a human in over two hundred years. Have they been hiding away, distancing themselves and their magic from the rest of the world? Or did their lights eventually extinguish after all? No one knows, not even Eden – or if she does she’s not sharing – so the rest of the world has moved on, forgetting about Fireflies, treating them like the stuff of myths. But, on occasion, someone with a bit of knowledge will see a group of dancing lights in a moonlit forest and wonder if they are simply strange little luminescent bugs, or something much more amazing.


I hope you’re enjoying the A-to-Z Challenge and my little snippets of ‘The Other World’! If you’re interested in what else I’ve written, please be sure to check out ‘Nowhere to Hide‘, available on Amazon in both hard copy and e-book versions!


15 thoughts on “A-to-Z Challenge: “F” is for Fireflies

  1. We would fields FULL of them when we lived in Virginia. It almost seemed like we could “talk” to them. Whenever we’d shine a flashlight out into the field and turn it off, suddenly hundreds (thousands?) would light up and go out, too. Now enough teasing us with this story and just publish the books, all 3 of them, already 😛

    • lol Talking to the fireflies…that’s awesome! That would be so much fun. ^__^

      There’s going to be four books, actually, and I’ve only finished the first draft of the first one so you’re going to have to be patient. lol

    • I don’t believe my daughter has ever seen one either. I used to see them every now and then when I was a kid because my grandparents had a cabin in the woods that we would go to in the summers, and they’d come out around there sometimes. There’s none around where I live now though.

  2. I live in the south and I used to see fireflies dancing through the sky all sunmer long, but I don’t see them as often as I used to. I never thought about why I hadn’t seen them as much. I know I always thought of them as magical. I also remember a group of really mean older kids at summer camp one year who liked to catch fireflies and tear off their wings or whatever part of them that lit up. They did it so they could make earrings and other things with the “lights.” I was one of the younger campers and it made me cry like a baby. To me, they were deliberately torturing those beautiful, magical creatures. Now, I can remember it, like it was yesterday. Lovely post. I loved fireflies. I hope I get to see some again someday.
    Melissa
    http://melissasugarwrites.com

Leave a Comment

