A-to-Z Challenge: “Z” is for “Zabernism”

Z

For the A-to-Z Challenge 2016, I am blogging info on my current work-in-progress, a YA fantasy/adventure mini-series tentatively titled “The Other World”.


Okay, I’ll be totally honest: I had no idea what to do for my “z” word that would be related to The Other World. Then, in my moment of struggle, I happened to trip over this word: “zabernism”. It apparently means “the misuse of military power or authority; bullying, aggression”.

I thought this was an interesting word to share, and also a great way to end the challenge because, really, this is what the story is about at its bare bones. Iryen was a boy who grew up to be a bully – a very powerful, very dangerous bully – and asserted to use his power in a way that would definitely be considered “misuse”. He failed once, but returned to make another attempt, and now he holds the kingdom in an iron fist.

And the question, of course, is whether or not Tori can stop him.

So there you have it! An A-to-Z of my current work-in-progress, the first book of which I really hope to be able to release by Christmas. What did you think? Were the snippets enjoyable? Did they make you interested in the book? I’d love to hear what you guys have to say! And don’t forget to drop in on Monday for my thoughts and feelings on the challenge in general. 🙂


I hope you’re enjoying the A-to-Z Challenge and my little snippets of ‘The Other World’! If you’re interested in what else I’ve written, please be sure to check out ‘Nowhere to Hide‘, available on Amazon in both hard copy and e-book versions!

3 thoughts on “A-to-Z Challenge: “Z” is for “Zabernism”

Leave a Comment

