To Write, or Not to Write: An IWSG Post

IWSG badge

This time of year is always extremely frustrating and stressful for me because it’s non-stop stuff that has to be done. I have to get numerous tasks out of the way before winter hits. I have to make my daughter’s (and sometimes my husband’s) Halloween costumes. I have to start cleaning for the upcoming holidays, not to mention shop…a lot. There’s chores and work, and tasks concerning my daughter’s school. These days there’s also YouTube and all that having a channel entails.

And then National Novel Writing Month comes around, and it’s like, “God DAMMIT, why couldn’t Chris Baty have decided to create this challenge in, like, March?

I’m having a hard time deciding whether or not I’m going to do NaNoWriMo this year. I’ve gotten so busy, between my work, and YouTube and all the other random stuff that comes with accursed adulthood, that it’s been months since I wrote more than 10k in 30 days, never mind writing 50k in the same amount of time. And I know that NaNo is as much about having a reason to write as it is completing the goal, but I really really don’t like not completing the goal. Last year I competed and lost, and while I still managed to write a nice number of words, it felt frustrating losing the challenge.

And honestly, that’s where I’m going to leave it for today, because I already got a bunch of whining and moaning out in yesterday’s “Goals in Review” post, and I don’t think it really needs repeating. 😛

How are you guys feeling about NaNoWriMo 2016?

2 thoughts on “To Write, or Not to Write: An IWSG Post

  1. I always found saying you “win” or “lose” at NaNo silly. It’s not a race, it’s not a competition. You’re not trying to beat anyone else. You just want to see if you can do it, and even if you don’t, guess what? You’re still probably ahead of where you would have been – even if you only write 25K, or 10K or hell, even 1000 words, those are still words you have that you didn’t have before.

    Trying to force writing into a particular artificial timeframe, especially when you know your schedule won’t allow it, is just masochism. I don’t sign up for NaNo because I know (approximately) how much time I have for writing each month, and I know it won’t allow for me to hit 50,000 words unless I’m insanely lucky. Setting a target is not going to add more hours to my day, so as long as I effectively use what time I do have, that’s the best I can hope for.

    So yeah, apparently I’m not a fan of NaNo. I would say enjoy this time and focus on your other priorities, and if you want to make a push in March to crank out 50K words, then go for it then. Good luck!

    IWSG October

  2. I’ve decided that my work life isn’t going to get me too far. Probably. Most likely. I’m a woman striving to be a project manager for an electrical contractor and…I’ve been at it for 20 years. Still haven’t gone anywhere. I’ve seen all kinds of men promoted over me. I’ve even been informed I need to train them…how to do that job I couldn’t? Yeah. So, I’ve decided to really kick it up a notch–or 10–on the writing front and see if I can’t quit and at least work part time.

    So, with that in mind, I’m writing a book…every month. While working and re-starting my cover making (I wish I was better but need the practice) business. So, yes. I’ll be participating in NaNoWriMo, but mostly be default. I’m just insane. I feel like I’m insane. But next year will tell me if I can REALLY give up this idea of a career in construction…

    Or if I have to just swallow my pride and continue to teach men how to do the job I do for them.

    I’m really hoping I can make the writing work. I really, REALLY want to. I have the business plan. I have the books lined out. I have the schedule lined up. Yeah. I just need to make it work.

Leave a Comment

