“G” is for “Glorified Grease-Monkey” – An A-to-Z Blogging Challenge Post

G

For the A-to-Z Challenge 2017 I’m writing all about myself. Every post will be some random fact or bit of information about me that you may or may not have already known. Maybe you’ll learn something! Feel free to let me know! ^_^


For those of you who don’t know: I make approximately none of the money through books and/or YouTube. That’s not even a joke; the two things combined make me less money per month than it would cost to take my husband and daughter out for a night at the movies. For that reason, until the world smartens up and starts buying significantly more of my books, or YouTube’s ad revenue system becomes significantly more lucrative, I have a day job. Strictly speaking I don’t have one now (the nature of my work is that a job finishes and I’m unemployed for a while until the next one pops up), but what I am is an Industrial Instrumentation Technician. So why didn’t I use this topic for the letter “I”? Or “T”, even? Well, that’s because I often feel like what I really am is a Glorified Grease-Monkey.

Now, don’t get me wrong…instrumentation can be an extremely technical field. When you’re trying to work out flow coefficients and adjust factors for non-linear temperature curves and stuff like that, it can be really brainy work. But, more often than not it involves a large amount of loosening bolts, tightening bolts, greasing gaskets, tweaking set screws, and sometimes even just taking an extremely large mallet to an extremely large valve body and wailing on the sonuva- until whatever is causing it to stick cracks and allows the internal mechanism to move again.

And there’s lots of dirt, and lots of grease. LOTS of it.

I’m not necessarily complaining; sometimes good old fashioned nigh-brainless physical work can actually be very cathartic. That said, it’s often difficult to explain to people what I do when one day I’m doing derivative calculus to create a proper flow curve for a multi-state process, and the next day I’m wailing on a $75,000 piece of equipment with a mall-hammer like a madwoman.

There is one caveat to this post. On my last job, it was discovered that I was the only person on the crew who had even the slightest talent for not completely screwing up all the required paperwork. So for many months I was actually assigned to locating, printing, and organizing all our paperwork, being the caretaker for it, and keeping track of everything that got handed over to the parent company and when so that we wouldn’t lose any of it. So instead of being a Glorified Grease-Monkey I was instead a Glorified Secretary. Go me!

8 thoughts on ““G” is for “Glorified Grease-Monkey” – An A-to-Z Blogging Challenge Post

Leave a Comment

