Authors Answer 36 – Writing About Sex

Let’s talk about sex, baby! The authors and I are talking about how we deal with sex scenes today!

I Read Encyclopedias for Fun

When reading mainstream novels, it’s quite likely to encounter sex from time to time, from implied sex to very explicit sex. You can see it in a wide range of genres, though not in children’s or young adult literature. But what about writing sex?

Sperm-eggQuestion 36: How do you deal with sex in your writing?

Tracey Lynn Tobin

When it comes to writing sex, I am very careful with how I go about it. First, I consider the nature of the story that I’m writing. In “Nowhere to Hide” I found myself faced with a sex scene and I realized that going too far into it would not be good for the story; I didn’t want to overshadow the zombie apocalypse with needless in-your-face sex. In that case I wanted the scene to be delicate, romantic, and I made it “fade to black” before the scene really got intimate.

But…

View original post 1,343 more words

One thought on “Authors Answer 36 – Writing About Sex

Leave a Comment

