Low FODMAP Diet: Day 1 Insights

Okay, so by the time you’re reading this post I will be on Day 2 of my low FODMAP diet, but I know you’re all wondering how Day 1 went, so I thought I’d quickly write out some insights.

The first thing I want to say is that it wasn’t so bad, but that doesn’t necessarily mean that I think it’s going to be a walk in the park. On the contrary, although today was okay, I have a looming doom in the back of my mind for the remaining thirteen days I’ve pledged.

The main problem is not the restrictions of the diet itself, but rather (as I implied in yesterday’s post) the restrictions of the foods available to me while I’m at the Wapasu work camp. At the camp there are two ways to eat: there’s the dining hall, where you get breakfast and supper, and there’s the “bag-up” room where you collect whatever you want to take to site with you for lunch and breaks. Food is not allowed to be taken out of the dining hall, so I am restricted to what is in the bag-up room for whatever is going to sustain me during my 12-hour shifts. This is a key element in the impending doom, because what is available in the bag-up room is…not a lot. For one thing it is mainly sandwiches, wraps, pizza, and sweets, none of which I can have because the low FODMAP diet requires you to cut out gluten. But even when looking at options like the raw fruits and vegetables things aren’t cut and dry. For example, on the diet there are eighteen kinds of fruit that are okay to eat, but there are only five of those options available in the bag-up room. Similar numbers arise with the vegetables. There is gluten-free bread, but very few loose options for making sandwiches (my options are basically peanut butter or salami), and they do have gluten-free cinnamon donuts, but that’s the only gluten-free desert option.

They don't look half bad, but when they're the only option for 14 straight days...
They don’t look half bad, but when they’re the only option for 14 straight days…

So basically, what I’m saying is that the list of items I can eat throughout my 12-hour shifts is very short. To explain further, here’s a list of what I ate today:

First break:
– 2 hard-boiled eggs
– 1 cup of strawberries
– 10 oz cherry blossom herbal tea
– 8 oz water

Second break:
– 1 slice of gluten-free bread
– 1 tbsp peanut butter
– 1 orange
– 8 oz water

Third break:
– 3 oz plain chicken breast
– 2 oz cheddar cheese
– about 15 baby carrots
– 1 gluten-free donut
– 16 oz water

Supper at camp:
– about 20 french fries
– 5 hot wings
– 8 oz water
Now, you’re probably looking at that list and thinking, “Dammit woman, quit complaining, that’s actually not bad!” And the truth (as I mentioned earlier) is that it wasn’t bad. But the thing that I’m trying to get at is that all those foods that I ate today during those three breaks…those were almost all of the options available. In other words, aside from slight differences in the fruit and veggie options, I’m going to end up basically eating the same food every day. And that will get real old, real fast.

It’s not all gloom and doom though. I’m thinking that the key to surviving this experiment may be getting back into eating breakfast at camp. I don’t normally eat in the dining hall in the mornings because it’s so damn early and I’d rather sleep in, so I usually take things like the eggs and strawberries I mentioned above and eat them during first break. But if I can drag my ass out of bed and to the dining hall in the morning I’ll be able to fill up on things like bacon, ham, hash browns, scrambled eggs, and a few different fruit options, and in that way the work day might be a lot more tolerable. It’s going to be difficult because I’m usually just as tired in the morning as I am when I go to bed at night, but fatigue is supposed to be one of the things that this diet helps fix, so maybe it’ll all work out in the end.

So the long and short of my first day on the low FODMAP diet is that it wasn’t so bad, I’m feeling pretty damn good at the moment, and it’s mostly going to be all about not losing my mind over the limited options. I’ll update you guys again in a few days when I’ve had a chance to settle into the program, so wish me luck! I’m gonna need it!

2 thoughts on “Low FODMAP Diet: Day 1 Insights

  1. I guess with the limited options, the best you can do is mix up what you eat on each break. I often take the same thing every day for lunch at school. But I know that’s not the same as eating the same thing ALL day πŸ˜€

    • Yeah, the main problem is the length of the day. I HAVE to take lots of food to survive the 12 hour shift but my options are such crap. πŸ˜› Luckily I’ve still been able to eat chips at night. lol

Leave a Comment

